Concealed-Handgun Course for One or Two at Central Texas Gun Works (Up to 54% Off)

South Bend Center, Austin

Give as a Gift
Over 20 bought
Limited quantity available

Learning to use a firearm requires patience and a steady hand, much like feeding a squirrel an M&M. Hone your skills with this Groupon.

Choose Between Two Options

Over the course of approximately 10–11 hours, instructors teach the Texas Department of Public Safety’s required curriculum that qualifies students to apply for state concealed-handgun licenses, or CHLs. After breakfast tacos, the morning's classroom work covers topics such as the basics of safe handling, nonviolent conflict resolution, and the legal obligations of holding a CHL. Students then break for a working pizza lunch before moving to the range for supervised live-fire training. Should students successfully complete both the classroom and range portions and meet the state's eligibility requirements, they may apply for CHLs. Today's deal does not include gun rental and ammo for the range, which costs an additional $40. It also does not include any further application costs, such as fingerprinting or processing fees due to the DPS. Classes are typically scheduled Thursdays, Saturdays, and Sundays from 8 a.m. to 6:45 p.m.

Central Texas Gun Works

At their outpost in Austin, Central Texas Gun Works' state-certified instructors train marksmen in classes that range from the Beginner Pistol Course to more advanced training for clients pursuing careers in private security. The facility also extends into a pro shop where staff members advise guests on brands from Beretta to Walther. This store also houses a gunsmith who maintains and customizes firearms with services such as cleaning and parkerizing.

Reviews

The staff made all 10 hours enjoyable and informative. I especially appreciated the common sense approach they took to explaining what a CHL means.

Reviewer, Google+ Local, 5 months ago
  1. A

    South Bend Center

    321 W Ben White Blvd.

    Suite 203

    Austin, Texas 78704

    Get Directions

In a Nutshell

State-certified instructors qualify students to apply for state CHLs through a daylong class that includes breakfast tacos and pizza

The Fine Print

Expires May 22nd, 2013. Limit 1 per person, may buy 1 additional as a gift. Limit 1 per visit. Valid only for option purchased. Registration required. 24hr cancellation notice required. Must be 21 or older with valid photo ID. Must sign waiver. Not valid for renewal class. Not valid toward Texas DPS application fee. Extra $40 fee for gun rental and 50 rounds of ammunition. Subject to weather conditions. Must use promotional value in 1 visit. Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.

All Locations

  • South Bend Center

    321 W Ben White Blvd.

    Suite 203

    Austin, Texas 78704

view on map