Over centuries, modern firearms gradually replaced archaic weapons, such as the rapier and the sternly worded pamphlet. Take aim with this Groupon.
Choose Between Two Options
- $59 for a 10-hour Texas concealed-handgun-license course with lunch or dinner for one (a $140 value)
- $118 for a 10-hour Texas concealed-handgun-license course with lunch or dinner for two (a $280 value)
Following laws outlined by the Texas Department of Public Safety, state-licensed CHL instructors––most of whom are former or active-duty police officers––provide 10 hours of training, which culminates with a written exam and qualification at a firing range. Students can bring their own handgun with a minimum caliber of .35 along with 50 rounds of ammunition, or rent a training pistol and ammunition for an additional $25. Classes are from 8 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Saturday at most locations, or broken into two five-hour sessions from 5 p.m. to 10 p.m. Monday and Tuesday night at the Bass Pro Shop and Argyle locations. For lunches during the Saturday session, the instructors provide deli sandwiches or pizza with chips, dessert, and a drink. For those attending the evening sessions, dinner will be served one of the two nights.
DFW Shooters Academy
DFW Shooters Academy's instructors train out of indoor and outdoor ranges in the area and all instructors are former police officers.
The instructors can supply laser training pistols as well as live-fire rentals, including a Springfield XD series pistol.
At a Glance
DFW Shooters Academy hopes to foster safe and responsible gun ownership, and they've worked hard to earn a reputation consistent with their goal. To this end, the facility has acquired certifications from the Texas Department of Public Safety and the NRA. In addition to teaching pupils safe firearm operation, instructors help customers purchase the firearm that is most appropriate for them to ensure safe and consistent performance. DFW Shooters Academy also leads self-protection courses that do not require the use of guns.