Concealed-Handgun Class for One or Two from Spartan Defense (Up to 56% Off)

Corpus Christi

Value Discount You Save
$125 54% $68
Give as a Gift
Over 340 bought
Limited quantity available

In a Nutshell

NRA-certified instructors qualify students to apply for a Texas concealed-handgun license that’s valid in 30 states

The Fine Print

Expires 90 days after purchase. Limit 1 per person, may buy 3 additional as gifts. Limit 1 per visit. Valid only for option purchased. Appointment required. Must use promotional value in 1 visit. Extra $10 passort photo fee required. Firearm rentals available. Must bring ear protection and eye protection; can be purchased on site. Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.

Learning to use a firearm requires patience and a steady hand, much like feeding a squirrel an M&M. Hone your skills with this Groupon.

Choose Between Two Options

  • $57 for a one-day concealed-handgun-license class for one (up to a $125 value)
  • $110 for a one-day concealed-handgun-license class for two (up to a $250 value)

The concealed-handgun-license class qualifies students to apply for a Texas concealed-handgun license, which has reciprocity with 30 states. Held at Corpus Christi Pistol and Rifle Club, the course is led by an NRA-certified instructor who begins with classroom work focusing on both state and federal concealment laws. The instructor blends both lecture and video presentations peppered with humor to keep students engaged. Then, live-fire training at the onsite range drills participants in marksmanship fundamentals. The course concludes with a 50-question test and a 50-round shooting-qualification test. Upon passing these, each student receives a certificate of completion, a necessary document to apply for a CHL.

Tuition includes state-required forms and range fees. It does not include any additional costs associated with applying for a CHL, such as passport photos, fingerprinting, or the Texas Department of Safety’s processing fees. Students must also bring their own handgun—.32 or larger caliber—and 50 brass rounds, as well as eye and ear protection. Firearms may also be rented and safety equipment can be purchased at the gun club. Passing the shooting-proficiency test with a semiautomatic pistol qualifies students for a CHL covering both pistols and revolvers. Passing it with a revolver qualifies for a CHL that covers revolvers only. Classes are typically scheduled on weekends from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. with a one-hour lunch and periodic breaks. For those interested in learning to safely and properly handle a firearm, this Groupon can make a great holiday gift idea.

Spartan Defense

The NRA-certified instructors at Spartan Defense focus on helping students obtain their concealed handgun license through qualifying classes. They can also tailor their instruction to develop more specific marksmanship skills during NRA-sanctioned classes and private lessons. In addition to firearms training, Spartan Defense’s instructors also teach unarmed self-defense, drawing upon multiple traditions such as aikido, Japanese jujitsu, and playing a dead possum.

Classes and lessons, from horseback riding to wine tasting