Founded by William Ho, a Goodwill Ambassador for One Heart Beat and a longtime instructor at the Royal Ontario Museum, The One Gallery strives to expose Canadians to the appreciation and practice of international art. The business has dispensed art rentals and sales for private and corporate use and film productions, and instructed apprentices in private or group courses since first opening its doors in June of 2010. William Ho's paintings and sculptures have adorned museums, galleries, the United Nations, and Parliament Hill of Canada. On select Friday and Saturday night at Meeting the Master: Renaissance at The One, spectators can witness Ho conjure a stirring landscape or stick-figure version of the Venus de Milo before their very eyes.
Liss Gallery, established in 1983, is located in the heart of Toronto and is a leader in the promotion of Canadian and International art. The gallery features contemporary fine art including original paintings, photography, sculptures and limited edition prints.
Recipient of the Scugog Council for the Arts Business for the Arts Award in 2007, META4 Contemporary Craft Gallery's artistic oasis offers work by more than 100 Ontario artists, as well as classes and community events for art enthusiasts. Purchasable pieces include visual works, ceramics ($27 for a mug, $150 for a bowl), mixed media, fibre ($95 for a felted scarf), glass ($85 for a fused-glass platter), jewellery ($28 for dichroic glass earrings), wood, and sculpture. META4 focuses on regional artists within a 100-mile radius in order to support the local arts economy and minimize environmental impact. META4 is located in Port Perry, which boasts numerous restaurants, theatres, a winery, and the Great Blue Heron Charity Casino.
During all four seasons, The team at Toronto Adventures Inc. smuggle urbanites out of their condos and A-frames and into the area's nearby-yet-faraway outdoor streams, trails, and forests. In winter, the guides lead groups snowshoeing in the Humber Valley, and in warmer months, they glide teams over two rivers for kayaking and canoeing adventures. Paddlers cast gentle ripples over waters that harbour salmon and turtles while admiring shores that shelter deer, foxes, and blue heron.
Summer enthusiasts can also bask in the warm weather by sailing on Lake Ontario in keelboats, staring directly into the sun, or standing astride a paddleboard at Sunnyside Beach. For land lovers, guided hikes explore the Humber and Rouge valleys as well as the Bruce Trail.
CANADA’S FIRST INDOOR ALL-SEASON MULTI-DISCIPLINE BIKE PARK! A 90,000sq/ft indoor bike park open year-round for bike riders of various disciplines, ages & skill levels. The park features a cross-country loop, beginner/sport/expert sections, rhythms, foam pit, resi jump, street park, grind room, pump tracks and a BMX zone.
The Royal Ontario Museum is among the world’s leading museums of natural history and world cultures. By combining universal cultures and natural history into one museum, the ROM aims to engage its audiences from across the globe in the relationship between nature and humanity. This fundamental link is explored through the museum's many collections and programs, offering a wide breadth of experience in both areas.
2014 also marks 100 years since the ROM's momentous opening, and the museum is planning a year-long anniversary celebration of both its legacy and its potential going forward. The ROM will kick off another century of lively, relevant content and programming to build a community among future generations of visitors who pass through its halls.
Without the benefit of planes or cars, 19th-century pioneers trekked to the County of Peterborough, where they built a new life for themselves. Here, they established a number of operations including farms, a cider mill, and a print shop, and today, it’s as if the village never changed. The Lang Pioneer Village Museum re-created the 19th-century town in 1967 to give visitors a glimpse into pioneer life, and more than 25 restored and furnished original structures have been moved as far as 90 miles to lend the outdoor museum authenticity. Among these buildings is the three-story Lang Grist Mill, an 1846-built facility where wheat is still ground into flour every summer.
Costumed villagers populate the town, roving past the museum's vegetable gardens, hitching posts, and watering troughs on their way to work. In the various shops, blacksmiths shape metals, carpenters assemble furniture, and printers generate handbills on a 1927 Washington Flatbed Press. Villagers perform crafts such as open-hearth cooking and weaving; in fact, the museum's weaver shop showcases one of the few Jacquard looms on display in North America.
Visitors to the museum can interrupt any of the townspeople to find out more about their trade or to lend a hand with chores, or participate in events, which range from corn roasts to traditional pioneer Christmas celebrations. The museum even rents out its 1886 schoolhouse to students for a day, replacing their usual teacher with a costumed interpreter who conducts lessons similar to those of a 19th-century classroom.