Whereas Sheila grew up in a large city, reading books on horsemanship and dreaming of open trails, Jahn was practically born on the saddle, owning his first horse at 10 and fully training one by 17. Today, at Into The Wild Equine Adventures, the Hoovers—Sheila and Jahn are now married—share their lifelong passion by leading small-group trail rides along Oregon's miles of trails and naturally occurring treadmills, helping visitors connect with nature through both their surroundings and their steeds. As the head guide, Jahn provides every rider with personalized attention and works to ensure comfort by outfitting the mounts with foam-padded Australian saddles. Along with leading expeditions into verdant forests and snow-covered canyons, Into The Wild Equine Adventures serves as the only trail-riding company in the state of Oregon with permission to access the Monument Peak Trail System—12 miles of multiuse trails unfettered by motorized ATVs or steam-powered moose.:m]]
Mt. Hood Skibowl may be known for its more than 960 skiable acres, but when the weather heats up, the spot transforms into the Mt. Hood Adventure Park at Skibowl. Visitors can take advantage of its more than 20 attractions, including a half-mile dual Alpine slide, a Malibu Raceway with Indy race go-karts, a bungee-jumping tower, and a mountain-biking park. Young adventurers can zipline across the park, climb a 30-foot rock wall, and play mini golf.
For those who prefer a more relaxed way to see the park, scenic sky chairs carry them above Mt. Hood National Forest. They can stroll the interpretive walking trails at the top, bike to a picturesque lake, or head even further up on the uppermost scenic sky chairs for great views of the Cascades and any Big Foots playing chess down below.
Samuel Hill was undoubtedly a visionary in his own right, but having friends in high places didn't hurt him any. In 1907 he purchased 5,300 acres along the Columbia River to establish a Quaker farming community and found the Maryhill Land Company, named after his daughter. Seven years later he set to work building a mansion on the hill overlooking the river. But then his company folded and the mansion was without purpose. Enter friend number one: Parisian dance pioneer Loïe Fuller. She advised him to transform the cavernous building into an art museum. Throughout the next several years, he filled its halls with pieces from around the world, supplemented by works from Loïe's artist friends—including Auguste Rodin. And to further demonstrate his web of camaraderie, another friend of Hill's, Queen Marie of Romania, contributed Orthodox art and icons from her homeland. In 1926, the Queen dedicated the mansion as the Maryhill Museum of Art to a crowd of more than 2,000 onlookers.
And yet the museum wasn't finished. When Hill died in 1931, the museum's board of trustees stepped in to helm the completion of the project. On May 13, 1940, on what would've been Hill's 83rd birthday, they opened the museum to the public. In the years immediately following, Hill collaborator and arts patron Alma de Bretteville Spreckels fortified the museum's already-impressive collection with works of art loaned and gifted from her own home.
Today Maryhill overlooks the same vista, plus a sculpture garden, displaying its diverse collection of art from around the world. In addition to 80 original pieces by Rodin, including The Thinker, paintings by other European and American artists, and the Théâtre de la Mode French fashion exhibition, the museum's halls display Native American works from prehistoric times to the modern age. It also caters to younger minds with an activity room filled with games and child-friendly activity guides that make art accessible to kids so that parents don't have to carve Starry Night into their grilled cheese sandwiches.