$21 For One Ticket To The Asheville Symphony (Up to $42 Value). Two Performances Available.

Asheville Symphony Orchestra

Up to 50% Off
Give as a Gift
Unable to add now. Please try again later
Unable to remove now. Please try again later

Customer Reviews

1 Ratings

100% Verified Reviews
All reviews are from people who have redeemed deals with this merchant.


Ann B. · 3 reviews TOP REVIEWER
Reviewed June 7, 2014

What You'll Get

Almost anything can be improved with music, as evidenced by tuba-accompanied balcony serenades, operatic State of the Union addresses, and yodeled bank statements. Tune your ears to the sweet sounds on stage with today’s Groupon: for $21, you get one Area 1 ticket to the Asheville Symphony Orchestra, performing in the Thomas Wolfe Auditorium at the Asheville Civic Center (up to a $42 value). Choose between the following dates:

  • Saturday, March 12 at 8 p.m.
  • Sunday, April 10 at 3 p.m.

The Asheville Symphony invites classical newcomers and connoisseurs alike to bask in the sonic onslaught of powerful tunes during its seven-concert season. Under the skillful baton work of conductor Daniel Meyer, a six-season Asheville Symphony veteran, each concert harnesses the well-versed notes of up to 100 talented orchestra members and features a performance by a different guest artist.

The symphony's March 12 performance begins with Pulitzer Prize-winner George Walker's Lyric For Strings, followed by Franz Joseph Haydn's Concerto no. 2 in D Major, a three-movement arrangement featuring the fancy and sometimes shmancy bow work of 18-year-old cellist Matthew Allen from the Cleveland Institute of Music. After intermission, the euphonious evening draws to a close with Dvorák's Symphony no. 9 in E Minor (From The New World), leaving the audience's string cravings satiated and reducing the odds of a yarn-store riot.

The April 10 concert commences with a memorial mood, lauding three Viennese masters of classical concord—Brahms, Mozart, and Strauss. The first piece features Soovin Kim, known for his violin wizardry, as he casts sweet-sounding spells on open ears with Brahms' Concerto in D Major. Intermission's three-legged lobby races are followed by Mozart's four-movement Serenade in G Major, Eine Kleine Nachtmusik. The afternoon is rounded out by Richard Strauss' playful piece, Till Eulenspiegels Lustige Streiche.


CVNC reviewed a previous performance by the Asheville Symphony, and more than 500 Facebookers like the symphony:

  • The concert was not only musically impressive in every way, so greatly enriched by its vocal and dramatic elements, but was also a resounding affirmation for the healthy state of the arts in our area. – Laura McDowell, CVNC

The Fine Print

Expiration varies. Amount paid never expires. Limit 2 per person. Limit 2 per visit. Valid only for option purchased. Reservation required. Nontransferable. Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.

About Asheville Symphony Orchestra

By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.