Masterworks of Four Centuries: Bach Sonatas at Smithsonian Castle - The Commons

Smithsonian Castle - The Commons

Up to 35% Off

What You'll Get

Now in its 39th year, the Masterworks of Four Centuries series allows the museum's priceless collection of historic instruments a chance to come out and play -- and be played -- by the esteemed musicians of the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society. For this season-opening concert, SCMS artistic director and acclaimed harpsichordist Kenneth Slowik joins violinist Robert Mealy for a performance of baroque sonatas by J.S. Bach and C.P.E. Bach. Plus, Slowik is set to continue his popular pre-concert lectures, giving a fascinating glimpse into the life and times of the featured composers.

Event Description:

The pre-concert lecture runs from 6:30pm to 7:15pm.

Concert Program:
The season opens with Kenneth Slowik and Robert Mealy (Boston Early Music Festival Orchestra concertmaster and Juilliard Historical Performance graduate program director) completing their survey of Bach sonatas for violin and obbligato keyboard.

J.S. Bach and C.P.E. Bach: Sonatas for violin and harpsichord
The Smithsonian Chamber Players
Robert Mealy, violin; Kenneth Slowik, harpsichord

The Fine Print

Offer does not include ticketing fees. Information on how you’ll receive or pick up your tickets along with any date-specific advisories or restrictions will be provided to you in checkout.

About Smithsonian Castle - The Commons

Smithsonian Castle - The Commons

Nightlife, Concert, Fun or Leisure, Ticket & Event
By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.