Turning Points: Schubert, Brahms & Kilar at Pick-Staiger Concert Hall

Pick-Staiger Hall

The Fine Print

Offer does not include ticketing fees. Information on how you’ll receive or pick up your tickets along with any date-specific advisories or restrictions will be provided to you in checkout.

Throughout this season, the Chicago Philharmonic will be exploring pivotal moments in the lives and careers of major composers. In this Turning Points concert, they'll tackle three personal transformations -- experiencing first success, overcoming self-doubt and facing death -- with a trio of works by Schubert, Brahms and Kilar. The evening features Franz Schubert's "Unfinished" Symphony, written as Schubert faced his own mortality, along with Johannes Brahms' Piano Concerto No. 1, a stormy expression of a young genius striving to be counted with Beethoven and Mozart. (Brilliant pianist Robert McDonald, longtime teacher at Curtis and Juilliard, joins the Chicago Philharmonic for Brahms' masterpiece.) It also includes a performance of Wojciech Kilar's Little Overture, which proved to be the first true success for the Polish composer, who went on to score 130 films including Bram Stoker's Dracula.

Event Description:

Scott Speck, conductor
Robert McDonald, piano
Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 8 in B Minor (Unfinished)
Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1
Wojciech Kilar: Little Overture

By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.