No New Notifications

Small Ensemble

New York Jazz Academy

Limited time remaining!
Select Option

Highlights

This program bring together players of similar levels and goals, matching them into small ensemble placements in an effort to maximize playe

What You'll Get

This program bring together players of similar levels and goals, matching them into small ensemble placements in an effort to maximize player satisfaction. Small ensembles cover specific styles (Great American Songbook Standards, Early Jazz, Blues, Brazilian, Afro/Latin, Odd/Mixed Meter, and others). NYJA Small Ensembles are limited ideally to no more than 4 horns (2 is typical) and guitar, piano, bass, drums. 

On occasion, NYJA allows for multiple comping instruments in one small ensemble. In rare instances, select vocalists may also be eligible to join NYJA Small Ensembles. Players work intently with a NYJA mentor and coach in an effort to take their music to the next level. NYJA small ensembles often find themselves preparing for public performances, too. Groups have performed recently at Smoke Jazz Club, Club Bonafide, Carnegie Hall, and more.

Note that named ensembles (e.g. Monk Legacy Ensemble) do not only cover the music of the named genre or composer (e.g. Thelonious Monk), rather, they delve into a cross-section of jazz repertoire as determined by the ensemble coach and participants.

Most classes will meet for 8 1hr, 50min weekly sessions per semester. Occasionally, an ensemble will meet for 7 or 9 sessions, depending on calendar holidays. A concert/performance date may, on occasion, be added, either as an extra session or as a substitute session.

Class Starting Tuesday, September 03

8 sessions

  • Tuesday, September 03, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Tuesday, September 10, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Tuesday, September 17, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Tuesday, September 24, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Tuesday, October 01, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Tuesday, October 08, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Tuesday, October 15, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Tuesday, October 22, 6:00PM- 7:50PM

Class Starting Tuesday, September 03

8 sessions

  • Tuesday, September 03, 8:00PM- 9:50PM
  • Tuesday, September 10, 8:00PM- 9:50PM
  • Tuesday, September 17, 8:00PM- 9:50PM
  • Tuesday, September 24, 8:00PM- 9:50PM
  • Tuesday, October 01, 8:00PM- 9:50PM
  • Tuesday, October 08, 8:00PM- 9:50PM
  • Tuesday, October 15, 8:00PM- 9:50PM
  • Tuesday, October 22, 8:00PM- 9:50PM

Class Starting Tuesday, September 03

8 sessions

  • Tuesday, September 03, 8:00PM- 9:50PM
  • Tuesday, September 10, 8:00PM- 9:50PM
  • Tuesday, September 17, 8:00PM- 9:50PM
  • Tuesday, September 24, 8:00PM- 9:50PM
  • Tuesday, October 01, 8:00PM- 9:50PM
  • Tuesday, October 08, 8:00PM- 9:50PM
  • Tuesday, October 15, 8:00PM- 9:50PM
  • Tuesday, October 22, 8:00PM- 9:50PM

Class Starting Wednesday, September 04

8 sessions

  • Wednesday, September 04, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Wednesday, September 11, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Wednesday, September 18, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Wednesday, September 25, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Wednesday, October 02, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Wednesday, October 09, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Wednesday, October 16, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Wednesday, October 23, 7:00PM- 8:50PM

Class Starting Thursday, September 05

8 sessions

  • Thursday, September 05, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Thursday, September 12, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Thursday, September 19, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Thursday, September 26, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Thursday, October 03, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Thursday, October 10, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Thursday, October 17, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Thursday, October 24, 7:00PM- 8:50PM

Class Starting Friday, September 06

8 sessions

  • Friday, September 06, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Friday, September 13, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Friday, September 20, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Friday, September 27, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Friday, October 04, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Friday, October 11, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Friday, October 18, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Friday, October 25, 6:00PM- 7:50PM

Class Starting Saturday, September 07

8 sessions

  • Saturday, September 07, 12:00PM- 1:50PM
  • Saturday, September 14, 12:00PM- 1:50PM
  • Saturday, September 21, 12:00PM- 1:50PM
  • Saturday, September 28, 12:00PM- 1:50PM
  • Saturday, October 05, 12:00PM- 1:50PM
  • Saturday, October 12, 12:00PM- 1:50PM
  • Saturday, October 19, 12:00PM- 1:50PM
  • Saturday, October 26, 12:00PM- 1:50PM

Class Starting Saturday, September 07

8 sessions

  • Saturday, September 07, 4:00PM- 5:50PM
  • Saturday, September 14, 4:00PM- 5:50PM
  • Saturday, September 21, 4:00PM- 5:50PM
  • Saturday, September 28, 4:00PM- 5:50PM
  • Saturday, October 05, 4:00PM- 5:50PM
  • Saturday, October 12, 4:00PM- 5:50PM
  • Saturday, October 19, 4:00PM- 5:50PM
  • Saturday, October 26, 4:00PM- 5:50PM

Class Starting Sunday, September 08

8 sessions

  • Sunday, September 08, 5:00PM- 6:50PM
  • Sunday, September 15, 5:00PM- 6:50PM
  • Sunday, September 22, 5:00PM- 6:50PM
  • Sunday, September 29, 5:00PM- 6:50PM
  • Sunday, October 06, 5:00PM- 6:50PM
  • Sunday, October 13, 5:00PM- 6:50PM
  • Sunday, October 20, 5:00PM- 6:50PM
  • Sunday, October 27, 5:00PM- 6:50PM

Class Starting Sunday, September 08

8 sessions

  • Sunday, September 08, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Sunday, September 15, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Sunday, September 22, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Sunday, September 29, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Sunday, October 06, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Sunday, October 13, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Sunday, October 20, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Sunday, October 27, 7:00PM- 8:50PM

Class Starting Monday, September 09

8 sessions

  • Monday, September 09, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Monday, September 16, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Monday, September 23, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Monday, September 30, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Monday, October 07, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Monday, October 14, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Monday, October 21, 6:00PM- 7:50PM
  • Monday, October 28, 6:00PM- 7:50PM

Class Starting Monday, September 09

8 sessions

  • Monday, September 09, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Monday, September 16, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Monday, September 23, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Monday, September 30, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Monday, October 07, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Monday, October 14, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Monday, October 21, 7:00PM- 8:50PM
  • Monday, October 28, 7:00PM- 8:50PM

Soul Jazz Blue Note Legacy Ensemble

The class identified is made available through CourseHorse, a 3rd party marketplace for Ensemble classes and more. Groupon is not affiliated with or sponsored by the merchant, New York Jazz Academy, in connection with this offer. Please contact Groupon customer service for all inquiries related to this offer. Inquiries placed to CourseHorse will be directed back to Groupon.

The Fine Print

Expiration varies.

  • ALL SALES FINAL.
  • Must be 18 or older to attend
  • Voucher valid only for date and time listed; may not be exchanged, altered, or redeemed for other dates, but may send a friend in place.
  • Must present CourseHorse confirmation email upon arrival.
  • Purchaser name must be provided at checkout; this information will be shared with CourseHorse and course provider for purposes of order fulfillment.
  • Groupon voucher Terms of Sale and Extraordinary Event Policy do not apply.
  • Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.
  • Offer is not eligible for our promo codes or other discounts.
  • Note, additional equipment or materials may be required or included in purchase price, see course description for details.
  • Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services. Offer is not eligible for our promo codes or other discounts.

New York Jazz Academy

Fun or Leisure, Music Lesson, Kids Activity, Kids Class, Class, Skill & Hobby
By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.