No New Notifications

Beginners Acting I: The Basics

The Barrow Group Acting School

Limited time remaining!
45 ratings
Select Option

Highlights

This 10-week class is designed for the beginning/amateur adult actor, and will teach you the fundamentals of the craft. The class highlights

Customer Reviews


This deal doesn't have any written reviews yet.

What You'll Get

This 10-week class is designed for the beginning/amateur adult actor, and will teach you the fundamentals of the craft. The class highlights quick and powerful ways to make your performance more natural and spontaneous. No experience is necessary. A great start for the beginning actor!

All exercises are designed to:

  • Encourage spontaneity.
  • Foster real human behavior.
  • Help you become more sensitive, imaginative, responsive and alive onstage.
  • Relax you.
  • Change your work effortlessly and invisibly (so the audience won’t detect any effort on
    your part and therefore will feel like they are watching a real person rather than an actor
    “working”).
  • Bring more freedom to your work.
Course Outline:
Week 1
  • Introductions
  • Syllabus/schedule review
  • Theatre Games
  • Theatre Terms
Week 2 & 3
  • Script Analysis
  • Short Scenes
Week 4 & 5
  • Set Building
  • Scene Analysis
Weeks 6, 7, and 8:
  • Scene Study
Weeks 9 and 10:
  • Monologues and wrap up

Class Starting Friday, September 27

10 sessions

  • Friday, September 27, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Friday, October 04, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Friday, October 11, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Friday, October 18, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Friday, October 25, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Friday, November 01, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Friday, November 08, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Friday, November 15, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Friday, November 22, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Friday, December 06, 11:00AM- 2:00PM

Class Starting Sunday, September 29

10 sessions

  • Sunday, September 29, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Sunday, October 06, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Sunday, October 13, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Sunday, October 20, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Sunday, October 27, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Sunday, November 03, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Sunday, November 10, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Sunday, November 17, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Sunday, November 24, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Sunday, December 08, 11:00AM- 2:00PM

Class Starting Wednesday, October 02

10 sessions

  • Wednesday, October 02, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Wednesday, October 09, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Wednesday, October 16, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Wednesday, October 23, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Wednesday, October 30, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Wednesday, November 06, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Wednesday, November 13, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Wednesday, November 20, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Wednesday, December 04, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Wednesday, December 11, 2:30PM- 5:30PM

Class Starting Thursday, October 03

10 sessions

  • Thursday, October 03, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Thursday, October 10, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Thursday, October 17, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Thursday, October 24, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Thursday, October 31, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Thursday, November 07, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Thursday, November 14, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Thursday, November 21, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Thursday, December 05, 2:30PM- 5:30PM
  • Thursday, December 12, 2:30PM- 5:30PM

Class Starting Saturday, October 05

10 sessions

  • Saturday, October 05, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Saturday, October 12, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Saturday, October 19, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Saturday, October 26, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Saturday, November 02, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Saturday, November 09, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Saturday, November 16, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Saturday, November 23, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Saturday, December 07, 11:00AM- 2:00PM
  • Saturday, December 14, 11:00AM- 2:00PM

No classes on November 29

The class identified is made available through CourseHorse, a 3rd party marketplace for Acting Technique classes and more. Groupon is not affiliated with or sponsored by the merchant, The Barrow Group Acting School, in connection with this offer. Please contact Groupon customer service for all inquiries related to this offer. Inquiries placed to CourseHorse will be directed back to Groupon.

The Fine Print

Expiration varies.

  • ALL SALES FINAL.
  • Must be 18 or older to attend
  • Voucher valid only for date and time listed; may not be exchanged, altered, or redeemed for other dates, but may send a friend in place.
  • Must present CourseHorse confirmation email upon arrival.
  • Purchaser name must be provided at checkout; this information will be shared with CourseHorse and course provider for purposes of order fulfillment.
  • Groupon voucher Terms of Sale and Extraordinary Event Policy do not apply.
  • Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.
  • Offer is not eligible for our promo codes or other discounts.
  • Note, additional equipment or materials may be required or included in purchase price, see course description for details.
  • Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services. Offer is not eligible for our promo codes or other discounts.

The Barrow Group Acting School

Class, Skill & Hobby, Fun or Leisure, Acting Class
By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.