No New Notifications

3412 W Lamar St., Houston

$20 for $40 Worth of Upscale Home-Style Dinner at Daily Review Cafe

Select Option

Highlights

Customer Reviews

100% Verified Reviews
All reviews are from people who have redeemed deals with this merchant.
service
food
atmosphere
experience
waiter
T
Theresatop reviewer
5 ratings5 reviews
April 1, 2012
You'll continue to be a great place to meet friends but bring back the teeny burgers!
C
Cindy
19 ratings3 reviews
October 28, 2011
Service was very slow on our last visit. We were on the patio and had to flag down our waiter a number of times and also took our bill inside to pay it because we waited so long for him to come back. We were definitely neglected. Trout was delicious, pork was dry and overcooked, however.
J
JaVonetop reviewerhelpful reviewer
15 ratings5 reviews
February 23, 2016
Delicious food and excellent service. Nice atmosphere!
D
Donna
5 ratings4 reviews
January 9, 2013
I especially appreciate the lovely and varied cheese plate. I am a diabetic who would like to participate in the dessert course, but I cannot have the sweets. Your cheese plate even makes my chocoholic friends jealous!
P
Patrick
7 ratings3 reviews
January 9, 2013
It was awesome!
S
Stop reviewer
10 ratings6 reviews
January 9, 2013
You food choices, preparation, presentation, and service were absolutely wonderful!
B
Beverlytop reviewer
6 ratings5 reviews
December 16, 2012
Menu items we didn't have sounded delicious. We will be back to try some of them. Only other feedback, my mahi was slightly overdone.
T
Tomtop reviewer
22 ratings12 reviews
December 12, 2012
Great place!!!
See all reviews

About This Deal

Like attaching a fake mustache to a Halloween mask or cleverly changing your name from Obi-Wan Kenobi to Ben Kenobi, adding a new ingredient to something familiar can render it delightfully unrecognizable. Enjoy inventive eats with today's Groupon: for $20, you get $40 worth of upscale home-style dinner at Daily Review Cafe.

Daily Review Cafe's diverse menu creatively twists home-style favorites into elegant dishes, earning the crown of Best Houston Comfort Food and a Best Houston Outdoor Dining spot by Citysearcher. Engage taste buds with tortilla-encrusted shrimp, served with creamy guajillo sauce and guacamole ($9.50), before shifting gastronome gears up with larger plates, including oven-roasted mixed mushroom ravioli in a maderia sauce ($12.50). The ancho-cumin, 75-day-aged New York strip steak slumbers alongside potato, bacon, red pepper, and three-cheese flauta, as well as an avocado tomatillo salsa ($28.50), great for edifying palates or fueling spice-powered rockets. To keep it light, navigate the low-carb dinner menu, where grilled pork chops ($17.50) and salmon filets ($15.75) blithely mingle with the diner's choice of two vegetables.

Visitors can dine on Daily Review Cafe's outdoor brick patio surrounded by a lush, green garden while persuasively arguing that the moon is an alien in disguise.

Fine Print

Promotional value expires Nov 26, 2011. Amount paid never expires. Limit 2 per person. Limit 1 per table. Limit 1 per visit. Not valid for alcohol. Dine-in only. Valid for dinner only. Not valid for happy hour or holidays. Reservations required. Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.

About Daily Review Cafe

Chefs inside the Daily Review Cafe's kitchen artfully mold American cuisine into elegant, contemporary renditions of traditional comfort food. The low-carb and standard dinner menus flaunt that culinary marriage in a spread that includes southern fried chicken as well as filet mignon. At brunch on Saturday and Sunday, the chefs give diners sweet and savory options for starting the day by stuffing french toast with cream cheese and nestling crab cakes beside eggs. Chefs pass off the entrées to servers who ferry them to the spacious dining room or to the porch, which overlooks a brick patio surrounded by colorful garden foliage. The patio holds 20 to 100 guests and hosts events including private parties, where Daily Review's food shines alongside expertly mixed drinks from the bar.