Return to the deal

DFW Shooters Academy - Multiple Locations

10-Hour Concealed-Handgun-License Course with Lunch or Dinner for One or Two at DFW Shooters Academy (58% Off)

The Fine Print

  • Expires Jul 31st, 2013.
  • Limit 1 per person, may buy 1 additional as a gift. Valid only for option purchased. Reservation required. Must be 21 or older or at least 18 if currently serving in (active or reserves) or honorably discharged from the military. Must provide valid driver's license or ID. Must sign waiver. Classes must be used by the same person. $25 extra fee for 50 rounds of ammunition and gun rental. Up to $20 extra fee for range time depending on location. Must use promotional value in 1 visit.
  • See the rules that apply to all deals.

Questions and Answers 16 questions

Q:

Hello I have a few questions: 1) Can you take this class with a valid out of state license? We are here visiting for only 4-6 months and I have a MS license and my wife has an IL license. We do rent a home here in Dallas with our name on a month to month lease. 2) Can me and my wife share our 1 gun we already own or do we each need a gun? 3) Once you complete the class are you able to carry the gun right away or is there a 2nd,3rd, ect. process? 4) What is the minimum age allowed? Thank you in advance.

TONY Y.  asked on  Oct 19, 2012

A:

Yes, you can take the course as a non-Texas resident. You can share your gun for qualification, you will just each need you own 50 rounds of ammo to go through the qualification course. After you take the course, you apply via the web to the state. They conduct the background investigation and issue the license. The minimum age is 21, unless the person is on active duty, or reserve military status.

Travis B.  from  Merchant  replied on  Oct 19, 2012

Q:

Is there a class I need to take prior to taking this one?

Patricia H.  asked on  Oct 19, 2012

A:

No, our class will cover everything you need.

Travis B.  from  Merchant  replied on  Oct 19, 2012

Q:

Does the 10 hr course include both the class room and range time or do you have to come back after 10 hrs of classroom for the shooting test? Thx!

Keith F.  asked on  Oct 17, 2012

A:

Thanks for your question. Yes, it includes qualification at a firing range.

tony R.  from  Groupon  replied on  Oct 17, 2012

Q:

Can I get a CHL in Texas with a Oklahoma License. I Live in Richardson Tx but can not get a TX DL due to some surcharges?

Vernon P.  asked on  Oct 17, 2012

A:

Yes, Texas allows for what they term "Non-Resident" CHLs. Any Oklahoma resident, that meets all other requirements, is eligible to take our course and receive a TX CHL. Once you get the DL issues resolved, you can simply apply for a change of address and switch to a Resident CHL.

Travis B.  from  Merchant  replied on  Oct 17, 2012

Q:

If i buy this groupon do i just turn up on a Saturday morning or do i need to pre-arrange my visit. Thanks

Steve T.  asked on  Oct 13, 2012

A:

You will need to reserve a spot in any of our classes, at any location that has openings. Once you have your voucher, simply go to our web site to choose. There are lot's of options.

Travis B.  from  Merchant  replied on  Oct 13, 2012

Q:

I purchased a coupon last er for Halloween - to Screams in Waxahachie TX. do you have that offer for this year? My kids would love it again.

Niki B.  asked on  Oct 12, 2012

A:

I think you might be looking at the wrong deal. This is a concealed handgun license course deal.

Travis B.  from  Merchant  replied on  Oct 12, 2012

Q:

Can you break down which locations have the extra fee for range time and how much each of them charges? Thank you!

Anna S.  asked on  Oct 12, 2012

A:

I'd be happy to. Grapevine, Argyle, and Flower Mound are $14.50 and Dallas is $20.00. Hope that helps.

Travis B.  from  Merchant  replied on  Oct 12, 2012

Q:

Once I have completed the course, what else is required to obtain my CHL and what is the estimated cost of these steps; such as finger printing, the "application", and any thing else?

Diane C.  asked on  Oct 12, 2012

A:

The state sets their own fees. Basically, the license fee is $140 unless you are 60 years of age or older or a veteran; then it is $70. The fingerprinting is $9.95 and the state has contracted with only one company that does the fingerprinting. You are no longer required to have a passport photo as long as you have a Texas driver's license. They can use the license photo. We cover the steps to the application process in class. Those are the only other expenses you will have and you have up to two years from the date you complete your CHL class in which to apply for your license with the state.

Travis B.  from  Merchant  replied on  Oct 12, 2012

Q:

Are you required to pay the $25 extra fee for rental and ammo, or can you bring your own firearm and ammo?

Jennifer C.  asked on  Oct 12, 2012

A:

You are welcome to bring your own firearm and ammo. Just be sure it is 35 caliber or larger.

Travis B.  from  Merchant  replied on  Oct 12, 2012

Q:

Successful completion of your class is recognized in Oklahoma?

chris c.  asked on  Oct 12, 2012

A:

Yes. Texas shares reciprocity with Oklahoma.

Travis B.  from  Merchant  replied on  Oct 12, 2012

1 - 10 of 16 questions