$12 to See a Boulder Chamber Orchestra Concert (Up to $25 Value). Four Performances Available.

Multiple Locations

Value Discount You Save
$25 52% $13
Give as a Gift
Limited quantity available
Over 250 bought

In a Nutshell

Season of momentous music includes somber reflections and grim melodies by Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, and Barber

The Fine Print

Expiration varies. Limit 4 per person. Valid only for option purchased. Redeem starting day of show for a ticket at venue Box Office. Must show valid ID matching name on Groupon at venue. Must provide first and last name at checkout, which Groupon will provide to facilitate redemption of voucher. Refundable only on day of purchase. Discount reflects Boulder Chamber Orchestra's current ticket prices-price may differ on day of the event. Doors open 1hr before showtime. Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.

Classical music boosts listeners' brain functions and energy levels, which is why every child should ingest a well-rounded harpsichord each morning. Treat your noggin to a mellifluous meal with this GrouponLive deal to a Boulder Chamber Orchestra performance. For $12, you get one ticket for general admission (up to a $25 value). Choose from the following concerts:

All concerts start at 7:30 p.m., and doors open at 6:30. Student tickets are regularly $12 each.

Conjunction and Crown

The sunrise strains of Wagner’s Siegfried Idyll signal the opening of this concert, flourishing from a peaceful introduction into a joyous swell of woodwinds mimicking birdsong. Clarinetist Sarunas Jankauskas takes center stage for Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto, fluttering through capricious melodies as he adds texture to the ensemble’s soundscape. Mendelssohn’s Symphony no. 1, written when he was merely 15 years old, displays the composer’s incipient genius and a chord progression modeled after his disappointing report cards.

Bach’s Birthday Special

In celebration of Johann Sebastian Bach’s birthday, pianist Ivan Sokolov leads a foray through four Prelude and Fugue pieces chosen from the composer’s book of solo keyboard music, The Well-Tempered Clavier. The program continues on to the Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, which is instantly recognizable by its grim opening, which has become a staple in horror cinema. Finally, violinist Karen Bentley Pollick brings her bow to bear on the Sonata for Violin and Piano no. 3, thoughtfully holding mournful notes as Sokolov methodically works through background chords.


A perennial piece of mourning, Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings tentatively grows from a quiet melody into a groundswell of cathartic energy, followed by Bach’s Piano Concerto in F Minor, featuring pianist Andrew Cooperstock’s busy fingers. The program continues on to Arthur Foote’s Suite for Strings and ends with the atypical rhythms of Ernest Bloch’s Concerto Grosso no. 1.

Spirit and Gold

This all-Beethoven performance opens with the overture to The Creatures of Prometheus, celebrating the mythical fire stealer with blinding scale runs through. The Third Symphony, Eroica, marks Beethoven’s transition into his middle period, demonstrating his break from typical symphonic structures with unexpected stresses and intense emotional gravity. Pianist Hsing-ay Hsu plays the principal role in the Emperor Concerto, capping off the season with quiet dignity.

Customer Reviews

Marcie F. · October 5, 2014

By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.