Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra Presents MusicNOW on Friday, January 13, at 8 p.m.

Taft Theatre

Up to 61% Off
30+ bought
Give as a Gift
Unable to add now. Please try again later
Unable to remove now. Please try again later

What You'll Get

The Deal


In collaboration with musicians Lisa Hannigan and Aaron Dessner, and led by guest conductor Matthias Pintscher, the CSO performs a pair of exciting works that reflect the current innovations happening within contemporary orchestral music.

The Program
  • Andrew Norman—Play: Winner of the University of Louisville Grawmeyer Award for Music Composition, this 2013 orchestral piece earned wide acclaim for its playful blend of texture, form, and dynamics. The result, in the composer’s own words, “weds traditional symphonic logic to the non-linear narrative techniques and exuberant tone of a video game.”
  • Matthias Pintscher—idyll for orchestra: The young contemporary German composer (and conductor of the Ensemble Intercontemporain) wrote this complex, contemplative orchestral piece in part as a longing tribute to a late friend and mentor.
  • Selections by Lisa Hannigan and Aaron Dessner

The Fine Print

Promotional value expires Jan 13, 2017. Limit 10/person. Call the box office in advance to reserve seats in advance and to avoid will call lines at the door or redeem on day of show for a ticket at the venue box office. Refundable only on day of purchase. Must purchase together to sit together. Discount reflects merchant's current ticket prices, which may change. ADA seating cannot be guaranteed; contact box office prior to purchase for availability. Ticket value includes all fees. Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.

About Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Founded in 1895, the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra—under the direction of Louis Langrée—has matured into one of the nation's melodic heavyweights. Not only was the ensemble the first American orchestra to tour the world, backed by the US Department of State, it also hit the road stateside, playing Carnegie Hall 47 times since 1917. With such an enormous history, it's no surprise that some of classical music's biggest names are associated with the institution. It has housed famous conductors such as Leopold Stokowski and Max Rudolf, and has premiered the works of Debussy, Mahler, Ravel, and Bartók. It's not only responsible for introducing Aaron Copland's A Lincoln Portrait to audiences, it also commissioned his Fanfare for the Common Man into existence. Attracting only the finest players from Ohio and around the world to its stable of musicians, the orchestra continues its second century as an ambassador of symphonic culture.

By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.