Destiny and Dante’s Inferno

Cincinnati Music Hall

Up to 51% Off
10+ bought
Give as a Gift
Unable to add now. Please try again later
Unable to remove now. Please try again later

What You'll Get

The Deal

  • $29–37 for one ticket (up to $74.50 value)
  • Seating: Orchestra B (blue on the seating chart) or Orchestra C (green on the seating chart)
  • Click here to view the interactive seating chart. Zoom in on the front and rear orchestra sections to view the color-coded seating sections.
  • Note: On Friday only, audience members can stick around after the concert for Ignite Night, which features entertainment, drink specials, and ghost stories from Music Hall staff.

Ticket prices and values vary depending on the date and showtime you select.

The Program

Australian conductor Simone Young joins the symphony for a concert of pieces with ominous themes—two Brahms works, entitled “Song of Destiny” and “Funeral Song,” and Liszt’s Dante-inspired expedition into the afterlife.

  • Brahms—Schicksalslied: After reading the poem Hyperions Schicksalslied by Hölderlin, Brahms reportedly interrupted his Wilhelmshaven vacation to start writing this musical portrait of mortality. While on a beach walk, the composer’s friends suddenly realized he’d vanished, only to turn back and find him sitting on the sand, his thoughts swimming in his new work.
  • Brahms—Nänie: Written by the agnostic Brahms to mourn the death of his friend Anselm Feuerbach, Nänie’s bleak choral part begins with “Even beauty must die!” The lyrics come from the poem of the same name by German author Friedrich Schiller.
  • Liszt—Dante Symphony: Dante’s Inferno captures unfortunate souls as they endure ironic punishments in an eternal cycle. So it’s fitting that Liszt returned to this theme over and over again. A follow-up to a piano sonata that was similarly inspired by the medieval poet, Liszt’s symphony also encompasses the hope of Purgatorio and concludes with a glorious choral Magnificat gesturing towards Paradiso

The Fine Print

Promotional value expires Oct 31, 2015. Limit 10/person. Valid only for option purchased. Redeem after purchase at venue box office. Refundable only on day of purchase. Must purchase together to sit together. Discount reflects merchant's current ticket prices, which may change. ADA seating cannot be guaranteed. Contact box office prior to purchase for availability. Ticket value includes all fees. No children under 6 years of age permitted. Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.

About Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Founded in 1895, the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra—under the direction of Louis Langrée—has matured into one of the nation's melodic heavyweights. Not only was the ensemble the first American orchestra to tour the world, backed by the US Department of State, it also hit the road stateside, playing Carnegie Hall 47 times since 1917. With such an enormous history, it's no surprise that some of classical music's biggest names are associated with the institution. It has housed famous conductors such as Leopold Stokowski and Max Rudolf, and has premiered the works of Debussy, Mahler, Ravel, and Bartók. It's not only responsible for introducing Aaron Copland's A Lincoln Portrait to audiences, it also commissioned his Fanfare for the Common Man into existence. Attracting only the finest players from Ohio and around the world to its stable of musicians, the orchestra continues its second century as an ambassador of symphonic culture.

By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.