Greensboro Symphony Orchestra Tanger Outlets Masterworks Season Finale on May 14 or 16 (Up to 56% Off)

Aycock Auditorium

Up to 56% Off
40+ bought
Select Option
Give as a Gift
Unable to add now. Please try again later
Unable to remove now. Please try again later

Customer Reviews

100% Verified Reviews
All reviews are from people who have redeemed deals with this merchant.

What You'll Get

The Deal

  • One ticket to Greensboro Symphony Orchestra – Tanger Outlets Masterworks Season Finale
  • When: Thursday, May 14 at 7:30 p.m. or Saturday, May 16, at 8 p.m.
  • Where: Aycock Auditorium
  • Door time: one hour before showtime
  • Full offer value includes ticketing fees

Seating Options

  • $18 for the rear-balcony (Rows J-W) or the rear-orchestra seating (Rows Q-U) (up to $41.21 value)
  • $21 for the mid-orchestra (Rows L-P) or the mid-balcony seating (Rows F-H) (Rows A- K) (up to $47.64 value)
  • $25 for the mezzanine (Rows A-E) or the front-orchestra seating (up to $53.85 value)
  • Click to view the seating chart

The Program

For this concert, the GSO took inspiration from a rather unconventional source: Breaking Bad. Much like Walter White made the decision to become a criminal, the composers of each of these pieces consciously dove into controversial arrangements and topics when writing them, regardless of how many feathers they knew they would ruffle. Violin virtuoso Jinjoo Cho guest-stars to reinterpret these timeless yet provocative strains.

  • Debussy—Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun: The piece’s delicately layered, woodwind melody evokes a pastoral scene populated by mythical creatures, such as fauns, nymphs, and birds. Despite its majesty, it was criticized in 1894 for having little structure, a trait that some say led to the birth of modern music.
  • Sibelius—Violin Concerto: Hushed strings cushion the entrance of the violinist in the first movement of Sibelius’s only concerto, transitioning into a melodic solo spiked with dissonance and a third movement of staggering technical difficulty. It’s so difficult, in fact, that the original soloist was unable to successfully play it at the 1904 premiere.
  • Stravinsky—The Rite of Spring: This avant-garde masterpiece opens with a calm woodwind meditation before it builds to a thrashing fever pitch of dissonance and chromatic coloration. Its sharp rejection of the Romantic tradition caused riots when it premiered in Paris in 1913. Similarly controversial was its content: during a prehistoric ritual, a maiden dances herself to death as a form of religious sacrifice.

The Fine Print

Promotional value expires May 16, 2015. Limit 4 per person. Valid only for option purchased. Reservation required. Redeem starting day of event for a ticket at venue box office. Must show valid ID matching name on voucher at Aycock Auditorium. Refundable only on day of purchase. Must redeem together to sit together. Discount reflects Ticketmaster's current ticket prices-price may differ on day of the event. Doors open 1 hour before showtime. For ADA seating, call box office promptly upon receipt of voucher - availability is limited. Must use promotional value in 1 visit. Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.

About Greensboro Symphony Orchestra

The Greensboro Symphony’s mighty oak has grown from the most acornic of beginnings—its story started in the 1920s with a group of musicians at Woman's College. Over the years, the symphony has grown into a cultural cornerstone of the community, with community-outreach programs, youth-involvement events, a secret volcano headquarters, and an endowment fund.

Greensboro Symphony Orchestra

Ticket & Event, Symphony
By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.