Alexander Sitkovetsky

Alexander Sitkovetsky Multiple Locations

Give as a Gift
Unable to add now. Please try again later
Unable to remove now. Please try again later
Up to 51% Off
80+ bought

What You'll Get

Conductors got their name by both guiding orchestras and wielding copper batons that deflect lightning away from the brass section. Behold an electrifying performance with this deal.

The Deal

  • One ticket to see Alexander Sitkovetsky presented by the Greensboro Symphony Orchestra
  • Door time: 30 minutes before each show
  • Ticket values include all fees.<p>

Performance Options

  • “Masterworks” Thursday, May 9, at 7:30 p.m., at War Memorial Auditorium
  • “Chamber” Friday, May 10, at 8 p.m. at UNCG Recital Hall
  • “Masterworks” Saturday, May 11, at 8 p.m., at Dana Auditorium at Guilford College<p>

Seating Options

The Program

For the final Masterworks Series performance of its 2012–2013 season, the Greensboro Symphony Orchestra invites violinist Alexander Sitkovetsky to train his bow on some of history’s great violin works. Fresh off a tour with the St. Petersburg Symphony and concerts in Minsk, Berlin, and Belarus, Alexander arrives still riding the wave of praise from his 2011 win at the Trio de Trieste Duo Competition. To open the evening, the orchestra’s Musical Director, Dimitry Sitkovetsky, joins his cousin to explore the intricately intertwined melodies of Bach’s Concerto for Two Violins.

  • Bach—Concerto for Two Violins: One of Johann Sebastian’s most well-known works tasks the two principle violinists with simultaneously raising and shaping a melody. Throughout three movements, the duo speaks and listens to each other, honing their relationship until nearly unified.
  • Mendelssohn—Violin Concerto: The final of Felix Mendelssohn’s large orchestral works breaks traditional form with the immediate introduction of the soloist, who must navigate a maze of finger-curling scale runs.
  • Beethoven—Symphony No. “10”: Though not actually a Beethoven symphony, this work quilts together bits of the master’s 3rd, 4th, 6th, and 8th symphonies to create an epilogue to his career. It opens with the 8th’s joyful flair, rolls through the 6th’s homage to Nirvana, and closes with the 4th’s feverish runs.<p>

Alexander Sitkovetsky – Tchaikovsky’s Song Without Words <iframe width="450" height="243" src="" frameborder="0" allowFullScreen="allowFullScreen"></iframe>

The Fine Print

Expiration varies. Limit 4/person. Valid only for option purchased. Reservation required and available through the Greensboro Symphony Box Office only. Refundable only on day of purchase. Must redeem together to sit together. Discount reflects Ticketmaster's current ticket prices-price may differ on day of the event. For ADA seating, call box office promptly upon receipt of voucher - availability is limited. Ticket cannot be exchanged for other concerts. Not valid with any other offers, promotions, or coupons. Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.

About Greensboro Symphony Orchestra

The Greensboro Symphony’s mighty oak has grown from the most acornic of beginnings—its story started in the 1920s with a group of musicians at Woman's College. Over the years, the symphony has grown into a cultural cornerstone of the community, with community-outreach programs, youth-involvement events, a secret volcano headquarters, and an endowment fund.

By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.