Kindred Spirits Orchestra presents: Shostakovich's Tenth

Flato Markham Theatre

Give as a Gift
Limited quantity available
Over 20 bought

In a Nutshell

Concert showcases three pieces that narrate happiness and tragedy, building to a grand finale of Shostakovich’s iconic “Symphony No. 10”

The Fine Print

Promotional value expires Feb 11, 2017. Limit 8/person. Valid only for option purchased. Redeem on day of show for a ticket at the venue box office. Refundable only on day of purchase. Must redeem together to sit together. Discount reflects merchant's current ticket prices, which may change. Disability seating cannot be guaranteed; contact box office prior to purchase for availability. Ticket value includes all fees. Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.

The Deal

  • $22 for one ticket for orchestra seating (up to $37 value)
  • $26 for one ticket of orchestra box seating (up to $42 value)
  • View the seating chart.

The Program

  • Richard Wagner — Prelede and Liebestod (Love-Death): In a program built around music that skillfully narrates happiness and tragedy, this evocative piece opens with an exploration of the primal nature of love.
  • Schumann — Cello Concerto in A Minor: Cellist Rachel Mercer performs this popular piece, which Schumann penned during a brief moment of optimism.
  • Shostakovich—Symphony No. 10: This emotional symphony evokes tragedy, despair, and violence before concluding in two brief minutes of well-earned triumph—a structure that has left many wondering if the work is actually about the reign of Stalin, especially since Stalin had Shostakovich publicly denounced. After all, the piece did debut in December of 1953, just months after Stalin’s death.

By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.