Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra Presents "The Dream of Gerontius"

Taft Theatre

Up to 69% Off
10+ bought
Give as a Gift
Unable to add now. Please try again later
Unable to remove now. Please try again later

What You'll Get

The Deal

The Dream of Gerontius

  • The Piece: Composed by Sir Edward Elgar and set to the words of John Henry Newman, this 1900 piece for orchestra and voice traces the at once melancholic and epic voyage of the human soul into Purgatory.
  • Featured Voice: Mezzo-soprano Michelle DeYoung, who has been praised by the New York Times and given the designation of “the most electrifying performance I’ve witnessed in Dallas in 16 years” by Scott Cantrell of the Dallas Morning News.
  • Pre-Concert: Before the performance, enjoy the harp music of Elizabeth Landis in the lobby.

The Fine Print

Promotional value expires May 26, 2017. Limit 10/person. Redeem starting 5/19 for a ticket at the venue box office. Refundable only on day of purchase. Must purchase together to sit together. Merchant is issuer of tickets - discount reflects current ticket prices, which may change. ADA seating cannot be guaranteed; contact box office prior to purchase for availability. Ticket value includes all fees. Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.

About Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Founded in 1895, the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra—under the direction of Louis Langrée—has matured into one of the nation's melodic heavyweights. Not only was the ensemble the first American orchestra to tour the world, backed by the US Department of State, it also hit the road stateside, playing Carnegie Hall 47 times since 1917. With such an enormous history, it's no surprise that some of classical music's biggest names are associated with the institution. It has housed famous conductors such as Leopold Stokowski and Max Rudolf, and has premiered the works of Debussy, Mahler, Ravel, and Bartók. It's not only responsible for introducing Aaron Copland's A Lincoln Portrait to audiences, it also commissioned his Fanfare for the Common Man into existence. Attracting only the finest players from Ohio and around the world to its stable of musicians, the orchestra continues its second century as an ambassador of symphonic culture.

By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.