Long Beach Symphony: Bach & Mahler at Long Beach Performing Arts Center, Terrace Theater

Downtown Long Beach

The Fine Print

Offer does not include ticketing fees. Information on how you'll receive or pick up your tickets along with any date-specific advisories or restrictions will be provided to you in checkout.

Long Beach Symphony offers up an eclectic treat with pieces from Bach and Mahler, along with a nostalgic work by Samuel Barber at the Long Beach Performing Arts Center's Terrace Theater. The concert opens with majestic trumpets in J.S. Bach's sumptuous Overture to Orchestral Suite No. 4. Then acclaimed soprano Elissa Johnston will sing Barber's Knoxville: Summer of 1915, featuring text from James Agee's preamble to his Pulitzer Prize-winning book A Death in the Family. Mahler's beautiful Symphony No. 4 wraps the program, as the Austrian composer poignantly brings to life a child's innocent view of the world and heavens above through a breathtaking slow movement featuring the composer's signature soft passages. Johnston again joins the orchestra, led by guest conductor Gemma New, on Mahler's Fourth.

Event Description:

Bach – Overture to Orchestral Suite No. 4
Barber – Knoxville: Summer of 1915
Mahler – Symphony No. 4

Elissa Johnston, soprano
Gemma New, guest conductor

Program and artists subject to change.

Merchant Location Map
  1. 1

    Downtown Long Beach

    300 East Ocean Boulevard

    Long Beach, CA 90802

    Get Directions

By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.