Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble Live at Montreux 2 CD/DVD Set. Free Shipping and Returns.

Stevie Ray Vaughan CD/DVD Set

Up to 50% Off
150+ bought
Discount 50%
Over 150 bought
no longer available

Product Details

Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble Live at Montreux 2 CD/DVD Set

Stevie Ray Vaughan was already becoming a local legend in the Southern blues circuit when he and his band Double Trouble were asked to play at the 1982 Montreux Jazz Festival in Switzerland. So when his commanding performance of tunes such as "Pride and Joy" and "Love Struck Baby" was met by boos and hisses by the European audience, it came as quite a shock. But like a drawn-out engagement proposal at a football game, not everyone in the crowd detested it—David Bowie and Jackson Browne were also in the audience that night, and quickly realized the blues musician's potential. Browne invited Stevie Ray Vaughan to record what would be his debut album at his studio free of charge, and Bowie hired him to play on the album Let's Dance. And when Stevie was invited back to Montreaux in 1985, the audience had finally come around, greeting his songs with the cheers and admiration they deserved.

This two-CD and two-DVD set grants blues fans with crisp audio and stunning video of those two fateful nights. Eleven of the 19 tracks—including classics such as "Scuttle Buttin'," "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)," and "Tin Pan Alley (aka Roughest Place in Town)"—are previously unreleased, and the 1982 performance stands as the earliest available live recording of the original Double Trouble lineup. The DVDs also grant a glimpse into the contrast between Stevie as the 1982 up-and-comer with a modest demeanor and as the flashier 1985 blues hero with ostentatious clothing and a polished stage persona.

  • Two-CD set captures both Montreaux shows for the first time
  • 19 tracks with 11 previously unreleased
  • 1982 show is the earliest available live album with the original Double Trouble lineup
  • Johnny Copeland performs with the band in the 1985 show
  • New liner notes by David Bowie, Chris Layton, and Tommy Shannon
  • Two-DVD set displays both shows in crisp, multi-angle video

How to get your goods: by purchasing this Groupon and providing your name and shipping address, your order is complete!

For questions pertaining to this deal, please visit the deal Q&A on this page. For post-purchase inquiries, please contact Groupon customer service.

View the Groupon Goods FAQ for additional information.

The Fine Print

Limit 3 per person, may buy 2 more as gifts. Free returns. Free shipping. Does not ship to AK/HI/Canada/Puerto Rico. Most orders are delivered within 12 business days from the purchase date. Does not ship to PO boxes. See return policy. Must pay applicable tax and provide name and shipping address at checkout, which will be shared to facilitate shipping. Goods sold by Groupon Goods.

By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.