Finlandia & Faure

Ohio Theatre

Give as a Gift

In a Nutshell

The Symphony Chorus and two acclaimed soloists cap off an emotional evening with Fauré’s soothing Requiem Mass

The Fine Print

Expiration varies. Limit 8 per person. Valid only for option purchased. Redeem day of show for a ticket at venue box office. Must show valid ID matching name on Groupon at Ohio Theatre. Refundable only on day of purchase. Must redeem together to sit together. Discount reflects Ticketmaster's current ticket prices-price may differ on day of the event. Doors open 1 hour before showtime. For ADA seating, call box office promptly upon receipt of voucher - availability is limited. Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.

The Deal

  • $20 for one ticket to see Columbus Symphony Orchestra’s Finlandia & Fauré (up to $46.05 value)
  • When: Friday, April 24, or Saturday, April 25, at 8 p.m.
  • Where: Ohio Theatre
  • Seating: the front of floor sections 1 or 4, or the rear mid-balcony
  • Door time: 7 p.m.
  • Full offer value includes ticketing fees
  • Click here to view the seating chart

The Program

The Columbia Symphony Chorus joins forces with the CSO as well as soprano Hélène Brunet and baritone Anthony Clark Evans for an evening that stretches between emotional extremes.

  • Sibelius—Finlandia: Initially written to cap off a covert political rally against Russian censorship of the Finnish press, Finlandia became wildly popular as an expression of nationalism in the face of oppression. The piece became so notorious that Russian authorities banned it, forcing symphonies to play it under made-up names such as Impromptu or the sardonic Happy Feelings at the Awakening of the Finnish Spring.
  • Nielsen—Symphony No. 5: Like the tightening of a spring, even the quieter moments of Nielsen’s Fifth are rife with gathering energy—the military snare and rolling timpani ominously presaging an explosion of sound. Yet when the fuse finally runs out, the piece is revealed to be not destructive dynamite but rather a joyous firecracker bursting with optimism.
  • Fauré—Requiem Mass: Although the seven movements of Fauré’s mass for the dead were somewhat haphazardly arranged—with bits and pieces built up over two decades and combined with Scotch tape—it’s hard to tell from listening. The dark opening perfectly complements the central peak of the Pie Jesu movement, which describes as “long-breathed, classically balanced, tender, and infinitely moving.”

By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.