Bernstein & Prokofiev

Marcus Center for the Performing Arts

Give as a Gift
Limited quantity available
Over 50 bought

In a Nutshell

Iconic works from Barber, Bernstein, and Prokofiev capture the darkness, anxiety, and transcendent humanity of the years surrounding WWII

The Fine Print

Expiration varies. Limit 8 per person. Valid only for option purchased. Redeem starting day of event for a ticket at venue box office. Must show valid ID matching name on Groupon at venue. Refundable only on day of purchase. Must purchase together to sit together. Discount reflects Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra's current ticket prices-price may differ on day of the event. Doors open 30 minutes before showtime. For ADA accommodations, call box office promptly upon receipt of voucher - availability is limited. Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.

The Deal

  • $27.50 for one ticket to Bernstein & Prokofiev (up to $55 value)
  • When: Friday, February 6, or Saturday, February 7, at 8 p.m.
  • Where: Marcus Center for the Performing Arts
  • Seating: premium orchestra
  • Door time: 7:30 p.m.
  • Full offer value includes ticketing fees
  • Click here to view the seating chart

The Program

  • Barber—Overture to The School for Scandal: Named after an 18th-century comedy but written as a graduation thesis at the Curtis Institute of Music, the tone of Barber’s first widely performed score reflects the play’s mix of high-society farce and shocking murder.
  • Bernstein—Symphony No. 2, The Age of Anxiety: Instead of following traditional symphony form, Bernstein mirrored Auden’s Pulitzer-winning poem in composing a piece in six sections, performed without pause by orchestra and solo piano.
  • Prokofiev—Symphony No. 5 in B-flat major: The composer himself considered this symphony his magnum opus, and a testament to all human greatness. It lives up to its creator’s assessment with richly textured melodies, bone-shaking volume, and a deep sense of dignity.

Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra

Great symphony orchestras can breathe new life into centuries-old works of art, but few can excel in looking to the future as well. For more than half a century, the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra has done just that, enriching its community while drawing upon innovative technologies to reach listeners across the country. Its nationally syndicated radio broadcast, for instance, has filled the airwaves for more than four decades, transmitting the sounds of the MSO's 83 musicians to some 3.8 million listeners and their 7.6 million pets. The the orchestra also became the county's first to offer live recordings for download through iTunes. But it's not all internet and radio-play here—the MSO's pioneering spirit extends into its music, where it has premiered works by composers such as Philip Glass, Roberto Sierra, and Marc Neikrug.

By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.