Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra Presents: Beethoven-Garrick Ohlsson on September 19 (Up to 42% Off)

Hill Auditorium

Up to 42% Off
110+ bought
Select Option
Give as a Gift
Unable to add now. Please try again later
Unable to remove now. Please try again later

What You'll Get

The Deal

  • One ticket to Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra Presents: Beethoven-Garrick Ohlsson
  • When: Saturday, September 19, at 8 p.m.
  • Where: Hill Auditorium
  • Door time: 6:30 p.m.

Seating Options

  • $11 for balcony section Pink (up to $19 value)
  • $15 for balcony section Green (up to $25 value)
  • $22 for balcony section Orange (up to $37 value)
  • $28 for balcony section Yellow (up to $48 value)
  • Click here to view the seating chart

The Program

Garrick Ohlsson has been making a perfectly on-key splash in the classical music world since he was a 13-year-old student at Juilliard. Lauded for his expansive repertoire, he became the first American to win the International Frédéric Chopin Piano Competition in 1970, and has since filled his resume with global performances, a Grammy Award, and a co-founding credit for the FOG Trio in San Francisco. For this special concert, Ohlsson joins the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra and UMS Choral Union in a program dedicated entirely to Beethoven classics.

  • Beethoven—Symphony No. 3 “Eroica”: One of the grandest and most enduring classical works in history, the “Eroica” moves through the hopes, setbacks, and triumphs of a heroic campaign. Inspired by the French Revolution, Beethoven originally dedicated his ambitious yet melodically accessible epic to Napoleon. But when that hero of the people became a tyrant, the composer erased his name from the manuscript, declaring, “He’s just a rascal like all the others.”
  • Beethoven—Piano Concerto No. 3: The orchestra carries the concerto’s introduction, so rich and fully realized it is almost surprising when the piano adds its notes after the initial theme winds down. As the first movement progresses, the soloist and the orchestra entwine their phrasings like an unusually tuneful vaudevillian act, evoking a similarly complicated structure in Mozart’s Concerto in C minor. The piano takes the lead in the quieter second movement, punctuated by effervescent plucking in the string section. Finally, the jaunty third movement climaxes with a dazzling reconstruction of every melody that has come before.
  • Beethoven—Choral Fantasy: “When love and strength are united, divine grace is bestowed upon Man,” declares the closing line of Beethoven’s two-movement choral piece. This predecessor to the composer’s famous Ninth Symphony shares many of its same themes, from text celebrating art to the musical phrases themselves.

The Fine Print

Promotional value expires Sep 19, 2015. Limit 8 per person. Valid only for option purchased. Reserve by 5:00 p.m on 9/17 at (734) 994-4801 to select seats. All seats assigned by A2SO after this time. Refundable only on day of purchase. Must reserve together to sit together. Discount reflects Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra's current ticket prices-price may differ on day of the event. Will Call opens 90-minutes before showtime; complimentary pre-concert lecture 7-7:30 p.m. Doors open at 7:45 p.m. For ADA seating, call box office promptly upon receipt of voucher - availability is limited. Merchant is solely responsible to purchasers for the care and quality of the advertised goods and services.

About Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra

In 1928, four musicians from an Ann Arbor church joined together to play at services. Decades later, after several names and a number of music directors, the orchestra continues strong. Current music director Arie Lipsky leads the group through programs tailored for listeners of all ages. That emphasis on accessibility even extends beyond the orchestra—the orchestra reaches out to the community with a number of school programs that engage and transform music for children.

By purchasing this deal you'll unlock points which can be spent on discounts and rewards. Every 5,000 points can be redeemed for $5 Off your next purchase.