- $75 for a concealed-handgun course ($160 value)
The Texas Concealed Handgun class covers the state’s requirement of at least four hours of training in two to three days before clients may apply for a concealed-handgun license. Although it depends on the schedule, each day includes approximately four hours of instruction dedicated to firearm fundamentals such as safe handling, storage, eligibility requirements, nonviolent dispute resolution, and use of force, as well as state laws and the responsibilities that go with owning a concealed weapon. Instructors also teach the basics of firing a handgun, spending the remainder of each day supervising an optional live-fire training—range fees are not included with this deal.
Tuition includes all necessary training materials; informational packets may be downloaded directly from the Texas DPS website or picked up at class. Students must pass the written exam and shooting-proficiency test with a score of at least 70% to become eligible for a state concealed-handgun license. The class does not include the license itself, nor any fees associated with applying for the license, such as the cost of fingerprinting. Classes typically take place throughout the course of a weekend or two weekdays.
Live-fire training takes place at an outdoor range.
At a Glance
At Straight Shooter, Jay Temple teaches classes for new Texas concealed-handgun licenses, as well as an introductory and refamiliarization firearms course. In addition to training marksmen of all experience levels, Jay also specializes in cleaning guns.
“I enjoyed the class, Jay was very good at keeping the class interesting. I will recommend to family and friends.”
“Great class. Extremely informative. ”
“Study. Listen. Enjoy. Jay is precious. I just loved this course ”
2136 50th St.
Lubbock, Texas 79412