Looking for a deal?
Frick Art and Historical Center Loves You!
About this Business
- HoursSun10:00 AM - 5:00 PMMonClosedTue-Sat10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
From Our Editors
When Helen Clay Frick passed away in 1984, she left behind provisions for her childhood home, one of the few surviving buildings on Pittsburgh's fabled "Millionaire's Row," to be restored and opened to the public. Her family home from 1883-1905—named Clayton by Helen's industrialist and art collector father, Henry Clay Frick—is one of the only intact Gilded Age homes left standing in America. The 22 historic rooms were restored to circa 1900 conditions and visitors can view many art acquisitions along with some of the original household furnishings. Also on the 5.5-acre property, The Frick Art Museum hosts temporary exhibitions and displays a permanent collection with a focus on early-Renaissance Italian painting and 18th-century French painting and decorative arts.
- Size: 5.5 acres of land, the home of the Frick Art Center, the Car and Carriage Museum (temporarily closed for renovation), a Greenhouse, and Clayton
- Eye Catcher: if visitors are roaming the grounds, they'll probably be most impressed by the original house, a 22-room mansion purchased by the Fricks in 1882 and expanded in 1892
- The Building: the Frick Art Museum opened in 1970, but many structures date back to the 1800s
- Permanent Mainstay: Henry Clay Frick began his collection of art, emphasizing landscapes, portraits, and Old Master paintings, with the purchase of Landscape with River by George Hetzel, which hangs in Clayton
- Don't Miss: Rolling Hills, Satanic Mills: The British Passion for Landscape–a new exhibition that just opened in The Frick Art Museum